Copper Penny Bay

Copper penny bay
muddy legged sprinting upfield
Spring in his black mane


Nitzinger, American Quarter Horse
3 April 1978-10 April 2010
Our beloved Ziggy

Ziggy2

Alayne and Ziggy 1988

Versatility, Summit Co. Fair 1988 4th Overall (out of 20) English Pleasure: 9th Showmanship: 3rd Western Horsemanship: 9th Barrels: 2nd (Time: 19.07 seconds). The winner beat us by .07

My sister Beth made my wedding day perfect, because she brought Zig--not only that, but she made the cover for the saddle to keep my dress clean, and braided a strand of pearls into his tail.

23 June 2001: My sister Beth made my wedding day perfect, because she brought Zig–not only that, but she made the cover for the saddle to keep my dress clean, and braided a strand of pearls into his tail.

Today’s poem is a haiku because I am having trouble even thinking about him, much less writing about him.

Until I married Tony, I’d never been so well taken care of by anyone–nor had so much fun nor been able to be myself as I really am. From the time we bought him in April 1986 until his death 24 years later, he was a good-hearted, kindly, giving presence in our lives.

He is deeply missed–most by my younger sister, pictured above, who cared for him and built her life around making sure he had everything he needed in his old age.

He was lucky, and so were we who loved him.

Leave a Reply

